The Atlanta Lyric Theatre
     submit
Event Listings

Our upcoming events are listed below:


Rapunzel (Jr. Lyric Series)
From the Emmy-winning team behind the mega-hit television series, Friends, comes RAPUNZEL. A familiar tale with a fantastic new spin, it has all the charm you’d expect from the minds that has been making the world laugh non-stop for more than two decades. Forced to live alone in a tower with nothing but her hair and her witch (literally) of a “mother”, Rapunzel’s sixteenth birthday has come - meaning she’ll be able to see the outside world for the first time, just as her “mother” promised. Scared to let her go, though, the witch reneges. Lucky for Rapunzel a young prince, named Brian, happens across her tower and calls out her as he’s seen the witch do: “Rapunzel! Rapunzel! Let down your hair!” Before the Prince and Rapunzel have their inevitable “happily ever after”, though, they’re going to have to face the wrath of the witch and few other hilarious obstacles.
Sun 9/21/14 2:00PM Lyric Studio Theatre in the Sq Rapunzel (Jr. Lyric Series)
Sat 9/27/14 12:00PM Lyric Studio Theatre in the Sq Rapunzel (Jr. Lyric Series)
Sat 9/27/14 2:00PM Lyric Studio Theatre in the Sq Rapunzel (Jr. Lyric Series)
Sun 9/28/14 2:00PM Lyric Studio Theatre in the Sq Rapunzel (Jr. Lyric Series)


Grand Opening Lyric Studio Cab
Grand Opening Cabaret at new Lyric Studio. Come taste the wine! Come hear the band! Join us Friday, October 3, 2014 for the official grand opening of the new Lyric Studio Theatre in the Square (12 Powder Springs St., Marietta) featuring Lyric stars: Ingrid Cole, Glenn Rainey, Dan Britt, Logan Denninghoff, Jamie Katz and Mary Nye Bennett. An amazing evening awaits as you enjoy the renovated surroundings, the sounds of the Lyric Studio Trio, and some of Atlanta's best entertainers covering Broadway and jazz standards. Cabaret tables, featuring a complimentary bottle of wine, for up to four guests can be purchased for $100 (plus tax). Single seats are available for $20 (plus tax). Doors open at 7PM and the cabaret begins at 7:30PM.
Fri 10/3/14 7:00PM Lyric Studio Theatre in the Sq Grand Opening Lyric Studio Cab


Chicago
L-14-15 Season
Chicago
Music by John Kander, Lyrics by Fred Ebb Book by Fred Ebb and Bob Fosse Murder. Greed. Corruption. Set amidst the razzle-dazzle decadence of the 1920s, Chicago is the story of Roxie Hart, a housewife and nightclub dancer who maliciously murders her on-the-side lover after he threatens to walk out on her. Desperate to avoid conviction, she dupes the public, the media and her rival cellmate, Velma Kelly, by hiring Chicago's slickest criminal lawyer to transform her malicious crime into a barrage of sensational headlines, the likes of which might just as easily be ripped from today's tabloids. No wonder Chicago has been honored with 6 Tony Awards, 6 Academy Awards, a Grammy, and thousands of standing ovations. *Not suitable for young children.
Fri 10/24/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sat 10/25/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sun 10/26/14 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Thu 10/30/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Fri 10/31/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sat 11/1/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sun 11/2/14 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Thu 11/6/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Fri 11/7/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sat 11/8/14 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sat 11/8/14 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago
Sun 11/9/14 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Chicago


Sanders Family Christmas
L-14-15 Season
Sanders Family Christmas
Atlanta Lyric Theatre is proud to announce a holiday addition to its lineup! They're back! The Sanctified Sanders Family Singers return to the Marietta Square to celebrate the holidays with faith,family, and old-fashioned fun. Sanders Family Christmas, stars the beloved original Theatre in the Square cast! World War II provides the dramatic underpinning to the story of a family living in the rural town of Mount Pleasant, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. They are about to say a bittersweet goodbye to their only son, who is shipping out with the Marine Corps. But before he goes, the Sanders Family Singers are heading up the annual Christmas celebration at Mount Pleasant Baptist Church. Rev. Mervin Oglethorpe and the Sanders family attempt to raise the spirits of their faithful flock (the audience) in a rousing and energetic Christmas gospel sing-along of cherished holiday hymns and carols. Sanders Family Christmas performs at First United Methodist Church of Marietta's Family Life Hall (56 Whitlock Avenue, Marietta).
Fri 12/5/14 8:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas
Sat 12/6/14 8:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas
Sun 12/7/14 2:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas
Fri 12/12/14 8:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas
Sat 12/13/14 8:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas
Sun 12/14/14 2:00PM Family Life Center at FUMC Sanders Family Christmas


Catch Me If You Can
L-14-15 Season
Catch Me If You Can
Music by Marc Shaiman, Lyrics by Scott Wittman Book by Terrence McNally Based on the hit DreamWorks film starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks, and the incredible true story that inspired it, Catch Me If You Can is the high-flying, splashy musical that tells the story of Frank W. Abagnale, Jr., a teenager who runs away from home in search of the glamorous life. With nothing more than his boyish charm, a big imagination and millions of dollars in forged checks, Frank successfully poses as a pilot, a doctor and a lawyer - living the high life and winning the girl of his dreams. But when Frank's lies catch the attention of FBI agent Carl Hanratty, Carl chases Frank to the end...and finds something he never expected. Nominated for 4 Tony Awards including Best Musical, Catch Me If You Can will make its regional premiere at The Lyric!
Fri 2/13/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sat 2/14/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sun 2/15/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Thu 2/19/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Fri 2/20/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sat 2/21/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sun 2/22/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Thu 2/26/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Fri 2/27/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sat 2/28/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sat 2/28/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can
Sun 3/1/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Catch Me If You Can


Damn Yankees
L-14-15 Season
Damn Yankees
Music and Lyrics by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross Book by George Abbott and Douglas Wallop The Lyric welcome the Atlanta Braves to Cobb County with the classic baseball musical Damn Yankees! Winner of eleven Tony Awards including Best Musical and Best Choreography, Damn Yankees is sure to be a homerun hit. Based on Douglas Wallop's “The Year the Yankees Lost the Pennant,” Damn Yankees gives a new twist to the legend of Faust when a middle-aged baseball fan when a devilish dealmaker offers Joe Boyd the chance to take his beloved Washington Senators to victory over the "damn Yankees" in return for his soul, Joe takes it. But as the Senators' stats soar, Joe realizes he's losing his wife and looks for a loophole. Enter sizzling-hot temptress Lola, a charter member of the Home-wreckers Hall of Fame. Who will win? We're not telling! This classic musical will have fans on the edge of their seats as enjoying hit favorites like "Whatever Lola Wants," "Heart" and "Six Months Out of Every Year."
Fri 4/10/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sat 4/11/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sun 4/12/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Thu 4/16/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Fri 4/17/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sat 4/18/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sun 4/19/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Thu 4/23/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Fri 4/24/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sat 4/25/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sat 4/25/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees
Sun 4/26/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Damn Yankees


Barnum
L-14-15 Season
Barnum
Music by Cy Coleman, Lyrics by Michael Stewart Book by Mark Bramble The Lyric proudly presents this exhilarating musical following the irrepressible imagination and dreams of Phineas T. Barnum, America’s greatest showman. The story of his life and his marriage to Chairy reveals a couple who looked at the world from opposite sides of the spectrum, and also reveals that she was the practical one who made Barnum’s dreams come true. The production follows the legendary showman’s life under the big top as he finally teamed up with J. A. Bailey to create Barnum and Bailey’s Circus – the Greatest Show on Earth! Cy Coleman’s wonderfully exuberant score includes the hits “Come Follow The Band,” “The Colors Of My Life” and “There’s A Sucker Born Ev’ry Minute.” Barnum was a smash-hit when it opened on Broadway in 1980. Starring Glenn Close and Jim Dale, it won three Tony Awards and a Drama Desk Award. When Barnum opened at the London Palladium in 1981 Michael Crawford took the lead, winning an Olivier Award for his performance.
Fri 6/12/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sat 6/13/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sun 6/14/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Thu 6/18/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Fri 6/19/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sat 6/20/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sun 6/21/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Thu 6/25/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Fri 6/26/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sat 6/27/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sat 6/27/15 8:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum
Sun 6/28/15 2:00PM Jennie T. Anderson Barnum


The Atlanta Lyric Theatre